Ghidra Front End Menus

Configure Project Window

You can configure your Project Window  just as you would another tool, however, only a subset of the Ghidra Plugins will be included in the list of available Plugins, as these Plugins are the only ones that may be added to the Project Window. These Plugins are "marked" as providing general capabilities that may be required at a high level, such as importing a Program into a Ghidra project, or archiving the active project. These "special" Plugins can also be added to any tool; however, the archive and restore options show up only in the Ghidra Project Window even though the plugins providing these options can be added to other tools. To bring up the Configure Tool Plugins  dialog, select the File Configure option.

The Configure Tool dialog shows a list of plugin packages that can be added to the tool. Clicking the checkbox will add (or remove) all the plugins in the package to the tool. Clicking on the Configure link will bring up a dialog for adding individual plugins. See Configure Tool for more information.

Adding or removing Plugins may cause menu options to change.

The configuration for your Project Window is saved when you save your Project.

 

Refresh 

This action will refresh the list of available plugins, based upon what is found in the plugins path.

 

Edit Menu Options

Project Window and Tool Options

Each tool has an Options dialog to change key bindings and set tool options. In addition to these two option categories, the dialog has a node in the Options tree for each category of options that are used by plugins in the tool. If a plugin is removed from the tool, and no other plugin is using a set of options, then this category will not be displayed the next time you run the tool and bring up the Options dialog.

To bring up the Options dialog, select EditTool Options

Related Topics: 

Manage Certificates (Windows and macOS only) 

On Windows and macOS systems the menu action EditManage Certificates... may be used to launch the system-provided user Certificate Manager. This dialog may be used to specify both user and trusted certificates.

Set PKI Certificate  

The Ghidra Server can be set up to perform user authentication using PKI certificates.  When the Ghidra Server is in this authentication mode, you must set your PKI Certificate before you attempt to open a project repository or create a new shared project  associated with this server.

To configure, choose EditSet PKI Certificate.... A file chooser is displayed; select your PKI certificate file and select the Set Certificate button. You must restart Ghidra in order for the setting to take effect. When you connect to the server the next time you run Ghidra, you will be prompted for the key-store password associated with this certificate key file. The path to your PKI certificate file is saved as part of your Ghidra preferences.

If the Ghidra Server, or other server, is not using PKI Certificates for user authentication, you can ignore this menu option since the certificate keystore will not be used.

Setting your user PKI certificate key store may also be required if Ghidra communicates with other web services which rely on PKI user authentication.

Specifying the single user certificate keystore in this fashion will prevent the OS managed keystore from being used (applies to Windows and macOS only).

Clear PKI Certificate  

If a PKI Certificate keystore had previously been set, it may be cleared using the menu action EditClear PKI Certificate... if no longer needed or to allow OS managed certificates to be used.

Server Allow List  

When attempting to communicate with various servers based upon a URL, you may be prompted to either allow or disallow the connection and all future connection attempts. The choice will be saved to a Server Allow List. A server entry is identified by the associated communication protocol (e.g., "https", "ghidra"), its host name as specified by a URL and the associated TCP port. The "ghidra" protocol is only identified with its base-port (e.g., 13100) and not the other two related ports. If you change your mind about a server connection it may be neccessary to revise this saved Server Allow List. Two options exist for altering this list:

  • To clear the entire Server Allow List from the Ghidra GUI Project Window, choose EditClear Server Allow List....
  • From a system command prompt, the updateServerAllowList command can be used to view and selectively modify the allow-list. This command can be found within the Ghidra installation support directory. Server Allow List entries may be displayed with the -list option, and added or modified using the -allow or -disallow options. Entries may also removed entirely by using the -clear or -clearAll option.

Exiting Ghidra

To exit Ghidra,

If you have made changes to read-only files, then the Read-Only Files dialog will appear. It will indicate that you must do a Save As to save these files to a new name. You can choose to Cancel and go perform the Save As or choose Lose Changes to continue without saving your changes to the read-only file.

If you have made any changes to Programs, then a dialog is displayed to prompt you to save changes. After the programs, all other files that have been changed and not saved are listed.

 

By default, the check box is selected to do a save. You can select or deselect the check boxes individually. Click on the buttons to either turn all the check boxes on (Select All) or off (Select None).

Your Ghidra preferences file is updated to record your last opened project. The position of the Ghidra Project Window is also recorded so that when you run Ghidra again, the window position is restored. If the Project configuration has changed (tools or workspaces that were added or removed, etc.), the new configuration will be saved automatically.

 

Related Topics: